Chairman-Elect

Xiaoming Wang

Past Chairman Simon Podkolzin

Catalysis Society Representative Israel Wachs

Webmaster Robert McGuire

Directors John Byrne Marco Castaldi Partha Nandi The CATALYSIS SOCIETY of Metropolitan New York

www.nycsweb.org

<u>Chairman</u> LUCAS DORAZIO (732) 205-5173 Lucas.Dorazio@basf.com

Director-Membership TAEJIN KIM (631) 632-8433 taejin.kim@stonybrook.edu Secretary ZHONG HE (908) 281-6000 (×131) zhe@primusge.com

Student Representative CHRISTOPHER KETURAKIS (610) 758-5149 cjk209@lehigh.edu <u>Treasurer</u> JOHN BRODY (908) 730-2932 (262) 313-4051 (FAX) John.f.brody@exxonmobil.com

Wednesday, May 21, 2014 Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel, Somerset, New Jersey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)

Excellence in Catalysis Award Lecture

John R. Regalbuto

Department of Chemical Engineering University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC 29208 Email: regalbuj@cec.sc.edu

A Rational Preparation of Supported Metal Catalysts

The 2014 Award for Excellence in Catalysis has been awarded to Dr. John R. Regalbuto of University of South Carolina, recognizing his significant contributions to the field of rational catalyst synthesis. This award is sponsored by ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company.

John received his PhD degree from University of Notre Dame in 1986 under the supervision of Professor Eduardo Wolf, and started his academia career in the same year. After 25 years at the University of Illinois at Chicago, which included 3 years (2006 to 2009) as a rotator directing the Catalysis and Biocatalysis Program in the Engineering Directorate of the National Science Foundation, he recently joined the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of South Carolina as the Smartstate (endowed) Chair of the center of Catalysis for Renewable Fuels.

Extremely small and uniform sized metallic and alloy nano-particles can be synthesized by John's simple "strong electrostatic adsorption" (SEA) catalyst synthesis method. He has demonstrated the SEA method with noble and base metals for all common silicas, from amorphous to mesoporous SBA-15 and to all common carbons in his early work. John's recent work has advanced SEA synthesis method for selective adsorption of metals onto composite surfaces for preparation of promoted and bimetallic catalysts. At USC he is directing his passion for rational catalyst synthesis toward the optimization of supported metal catalysts for biomass conversion and solar fuels. John has made rational synthesis an underlying theme of the Gordon Conference on Catalysis which he is chairing this summer.

2013-2014 Officers: Lucas Dorazio (Chair), Xiaoming Wang (Chair-Elect), Simon Podkolzin (Past Chair), Israel Wachs (Catalysis Society Rep), Zhong He (Secretary), John Brody (Treasurer), Robert McGuire (Webmaster), John Byrne, Marco Castadi, Partha Nandi (Directors), Taejin Kim (Director-Membership), Christopher Keturakis (Student Representative)